Skip to content

Karuppu Ulundhu Adai

August 12, 2010

Ingredients

Channa Dal – 1/2 cup

Puzhungal Arisi (Idly Rice) – 1 cup

Black Urad Dal – 1/2 cup

Tuvar Dal – 1/4 cup

Red Chillies – 6

Green Chillies – 3

Asafoetida – 1/2 teaspoon

Curry leaves – few

Salt – as required

Method:

  1. Soak dal and rice for 1 hour.
  2. Grind it together roughly, mixing asafoetida, curry leaves, chillies & salt. Make it into a batter.
  3. Heat dosa griddle and spread some oil.
  4. Pour the batter in the shape of a pancake and cook till its crisp and golden brown on both the sides.

Last year, when I went on a trip to Florida & stayed with my cousin there. One day, she made these lovely adai’s with black urad dal. I liked the taste better than the ones made with regular white urad dal. I learnt that they do adai with black urad dal in Kerala. Wasn’t aware of that 🙂 Since I am from Palghat, my dishes are a cusp of both the states (Kerala & TN). They are neither a wholesome Keralite cuisine nor Tamilian cuisine. A whiff of the best of both worlds!

Give it a try and let me know which one tastes better for you!

No comments yet

Leave a comment